A Promise Broken

Almost a year ago I swore off biking after my 20-km bike tour in Bali. My legs hurt, my butt numb and my shoulders, well, at some point felt like…I couldn’t feel it at all! My whole body was sore from the punishing uphill biking around Ubud and after the tour I promised myself to never ride a bike for more than a kilometer ever again.

But just a couple of weeks ago, I broke that promise.

Of course, I cannot join and train for a triathlon without a bicycle. If I really wanted to become a triathlete then, first, I would have to let go of my beef with the bicycle. And I did. As easily as I swore off biking last year. Next, I enlisted the help of my athletic power couple friends, Jill and Marnel, in finding the right bike and basically for every bike-related issue I have. Since I won’t be joining a race until, maybe, the second half of 2016, we decided to buy parts one at a time and build my bike from scratch. That way the burden of shelling out a huge amount of money for a bike wouldn’t be felt that much. Another option was to look for used road bikes.

The photo message from Jill that took me a step closer to my triathlon dream.

The photo message from Jill that took me a step closer to my triathlon dream.

Jill helped me online-scout for second hand bikes. The prices range from PhP 16,000 to PhP100,000 (really, there are used bikes being sold at such an appalling amount), most are way beyond my meager budget. I thought, with all my travel plans for the year there’s no way I could afford to buy a bike this year. Still, I frequented the biketradesph website hoping to find a cheap-but-still-in-good-shape used bikes. Then, one uneventful afternoon in Negros, Jill sent me a photo of a second-hand road bike being sold by their orgmate, Romi Garduce. Yes, that guy who scaled the highest peaks of the seven continents in the 2000s.

After Marnel inspected the bike (through photographs) and passed his standards, I agreed to buy the bike. Jill made all the transactions with Garduch, and, with Marnel, got the bike from him and brought it to our apartment in Makati. I am really blessed with the nicest, most amazing friends.

The hand over. From seller, Romi Garduce (L) to Marnel (R).

The hand over. From seller, Romi Garduce (L) to Marnel (R).

I saw the bike a day after it was brought to our apartment. I cannot believe that such beauty and form only cost half of the lowest-priced second-hand road bikes up on the biketrades website. My first meeting with my bike was a moment of sheer awe and joy. And I can’t wait to test ride this baby in Negros.

Gorgeous bike <3

Gorgeous bike ❤

My bike has been to a 70.3 IM race. I hope it can take me there, too. :)

My bike has been to a 70.3 IM race. I hope it can take me there, too. 🙂

—–

And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his Glory in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:19 (NIV)
Leave a Reply

